{guest reviews}:

 

 

June 22, 2013-June 29, 2013

 

Our family trip to Lake Placid and the Bear Den was a wonderful experience that we will remember for many years to come. Coming from Toronto with three small boys, we wanted an adventure with the comforts of home plus a few nice touches thrown in.  We got much more than this during our stay at the Bear Den in Lake Placid.  The cabin was homey, quaint, and nestled in a mature treed lot while still centrally located - within 5 minutes from downtown Lake Placid.  You could immediately tell that the owners were committed to a memorable stay and had spent the time and energy on the big things as well as the small touches.  We loved our home base and Lake Placid for the beautiful mountains and amazing eco-tourism all within reach of a picturesque resort town. Thank-you to Stacia and Michael for making our stay comfortable and inviting.  We hope to visit again soon!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Kyle Gojic and Family 

 

May 15 2014-May 18, 2014

 

Had a great long weekend at The Bear Den. House was spotless and the brand new kitchen was excellent. Close to area attractions. Enjoyed the outdoor fire pit and the wood burning fireplace inside. Plenty of wood provided. Would definitely come back. Thanks for a great time!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Scott Hartranft and Family

 

February 2014

 

Our family of 5, 2 adults & 3 children had a wonderful stay at the Bear Den. In addition to the 1.5 ft of snow that ensured a winter wonderland and excellent ski conditions, the cabin was fantastic and the owners a pleasure to work with. The cabin is rustic, and looked inviting with holiday lights around the porch and the front tree. The yard leads up to a hill that was perfect for our under 10 set to "explore" - it was very woodsy and gave the feeling of being far away from everything, yet it was close enough to the house to let them run and explore with out being concerned. The beds were comfortable, the interior was rustic and lovely, and the kitchen, while small was just what was needed. The heated floors in the bathroom were a great touch as well. And being so close to town was great - close but not too close! I was concerned about renting a house that allows dogs.....as a dog owner I know how furry and smelly things can get....and there was no trace of any 4 legged friends ever being in the cabin! Very impressive! I would happily rent the Bear Den again, and are already looking to book for next year!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

The Cannon Family

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

 

It's hard to describe the quaintness ans coziness of this cabin, but as soon as you walk in the door, you know you're going to have a relaxing and enjoyable time. Stacia and Mike are great people and genuinely interested in their guests having a positive experience. We can't wait until we're able to return again.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

The Moyer Family

 

January 2, 2014

 

Our family had a wonderful time at the Bear Den! Stacia and Michael's lovely cottage in the Adirondacks is the perfect setting, rustic and cozy with all the comforts of your own home! They were friendly, accommodating, very professional and a pleasure to deal with. We cannot wait to come back!!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

--Anonymous 

 

Kevin and Ellen Snyder

 

Christmas 2013 at The Bear Den

We spent one week during Christmas and we Loved the place! very cozy, tastefully decorated, owner had everything very well organized and prompt responses to any of our questions; close to the village and ski slopes, we had a wonderful time, we'll recommend to our friends and we'll be back for sure soon!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Dana and Radu

 

October 21, 2013

The Bear Den far exceeded my expectations. I stayed there with three friends to celebrate my 60th birthday. The cabin was cozy and very comfortable! It felt both rustic and luxurious at the same time. It was decorated in an Adirondack style with all the modern conveniences! The location is perfect! A private, wooded area close to everything and anything available in the Lake Placid area. We enjoyed horseback riding, walking trails, shopping, and excellent restaurants. We also took a chairlift ride to experience an amazing view of the mountains (my favorite activity)! I plan on returning during the winter with my husband and will be recommending The Bear Den to my friends. My communications with the owner were helpful, informative, and always warm and friendly! The Bear Den is a special place ! What a find!!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Melinda Wells-Reynolds

 

September 2013

This is a great cabin in a great region. It has a quiet, treed setting yet very near the amenities of the town of Lake Placid. The cabin is roomy and very attractive cabin as is the living room. The kitchen is well appointed, the bathroom is attractive and the two bedrooms are a generous size with very comfortable beds. The owners were easy to deal with and obviously love the place. It seems the word has spread fast about this place. I am very happy for this young couple. :)

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Barbara McCusker

 

Fall at The Bear Den

My husband and I stayed here with our dogs and we loved everything about it. It's a perfect cabin in the woods with all the trimmings. The kitchen is fully stocked with all necessary utensils, the beds were super comfy (best sleep we have both had in a long time), the bathroom is newly remodeled and the living space is large and comfy with a great fireplace. The firepit out back was my favorite...it got alot of use. The place also has huge windows in every room to let in that Adirondack air. We will definitely stay here again...in fact, we are already planning our trip for 2014. I have been visiting LP for over 25 years and this place makes my list of fav's. We love The Bear Den!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Marci Naylor and Family

 

Fall in Lake Placid

The rental process was super easy. Stacia responded to my inquiries very quickly and provided good house instructions as well as other information about the area. We chose the house because it was close to downtown and allowed us to bring our dogs. It turned out to be extremely convenient! It was nice to come back to the house after hiking mountains and just chill out in the great room. Cable and internet access allowed us to stay connected if we wished. Classic cabin furnishings are a nice touch. The king sized bed was very comfortable, and the bedding was good quality. The kitchen was well stocked for our needs, though I can't say we did much cooking, since there were so many dining out options nearby. Best memory from the house was sitting on the couch one morning and catching a deer out of the corner of my eye walk leisurely through the back yard.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bear Den and had a great time. My wife and I wanted to spend a few quiet days in the Adirondacks with our pup. The owners were very nice about letting us bring our dog Roxanne along. I think she enjoyed it as much as we did. She had plenty of time outside in the yard playing and we were able to spend a few days checking out the nearby town of Lake Placid. Plenty of nice shops and restaurants. We were also able to check out the area around Lake Champlain. We had some surprisingly good meals too. If you are staying at the Bear Den I would highly recommend you try a Chair 6. (http://www.chair6.com/) The food was excellent. While we were in the Area we went and checked out the top of Mt. Whiteface which was very scenic. Overall the cabin was very nice, clean, the bathroom was recently renovated and quite nice. I like the overall old school fee of the cabin. I also like that they had WiFi and Cable TV so you weren't missing out on any modern conveniences. The owners were straight forward, honest and easy to deal with. After our stay the owners sent us a nice card which included the prompt return of our security deposit. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle. My wife and I plan on going back and I am sure you will feel the same way after a stay.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Kevin and Renee Ahern

 

August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Bear Den for a week and loved it. The cabin was very clean, cozy and well maintained. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and a great variety of pans to make cooking easier. We found the beds very comfortable. The location was perfect - a short drive to Lake Placid, the grocery story and lots of attractions - and the cabin still had an isolated feel. The owners were very pleasant to work with. They were very responsive and left lots of helpful suggestions for activities and restaurants in the cabin. We would definitely stay here again.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

The Cohen Family

 

August 5, 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay at the Bear Den. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and saw how the cabin was authentic to the Adirondack cabin style that we hoped for. The amenities helped to make it feel like home. Being able to bring our dog with us also helped to make it feel like home. Our 2 boys loved exploring the woods behind the cabin. I will and have recommended The Bear Den to our friends who also like to visit the Lake Placid region. We will definitely plan another stay at this wonderful home away from home.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

The Hoban Family

 

July 19, 2013

I stayed at The Bear Den this summer with a few friends. We absolutely loved the cozy location in the woods! The cabin has so much charm and warmth surrounding it. You can tell the owners have put a lot of their hearts into making this cabin feel like a home-away-from-home for all of their guests (even the ones with 4 legs!). It is decorated with true Adirondack whimsy. The bathroom is gorgeous – down to every detail. It was recently updated and it shows. I noticed that the bathroom floors have radiant heat, so your feet would be nice and warm in the winter (I didn’t need this during the summer, but I would be very appreciative of this option during the cold winter months). There is also a nice fire pit out back with Adirondack chairs surrounding it for those relaxing nights, after cooking on the grill that is on the property. The cabin in located a short drive to the Lake Placid boat ramp, which was great for us since we spent most days on the water. The owner, Stacia, was wonderful to interact with, both before and after our stay at the cabin. I cannot wait to get back to Lake Placid and enjoy some of the other seasons. I will definitely be staying at The Bear Den again, I absolutely loved it!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Bonnie Serino

February 14, 2016

The moment you arrive at "The Bear Den" the cozy Adirondack cottage brings you "there". The owners' personal touch in the decor , upkeep and amenities are evident....After a few solid days of hiking and skiing, it was completely enjoyable relaxing in front of the fireplace, while we could cook meals at leisure and sip cocktails!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

The Cappabianco Family

April 3, 2017

March 15, 2017

We loved our stay at the Bear Den in late March. We had resigned ourselves to the idea that there would be no snow, but Lake Placid ended up getting 42 inches the week of our arrival! When we arrived though, the secluded driveway leading up to the house as well as our parking space were perfectly clear of snow. The house itself is updated, beautifully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The property is private and very quiet, and the neighbors that we ran into seemed nice. The owners were great to work with, even answering a late evening call to help us with directions (though the place is actually not hard to find...we are just too dependent on Google Maps, which does not list the street). The owners were so concerned about the snow removal that they were willing to travel to Lake Placid to clear it if it was not done. During our stay, we skied/boarded at Whiteface and went snowshoeing at Cobble Hill. We relaxed in front of the fireplace, and enjoyed dinners out (very much recommend Smoke Signals and Caffe Rustica). We hope to come back again soon! (The only suggestion I would make is to add a lamp to the living room, it is a little difficult to read at night!)

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Christina S.

 

Affiliated Properties

BOOK DIRECT FOR OUR BEST RATES

© 2020 ADK Properties, LLC. All rights reserved

STACIA & MICHAEL TAKACH

HELLO@THEBEARDEN.NET

PHONE: 508-237-9669

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black TripAdvisor Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon